# **ISANS AGM**

# Minutes of Meeting

# June 20, 2022

3:00 to 4:30 pm

**Present**: Lilani Kumaranayake, Sonja Erman, Cecil Snow, Alan Blyth, Rosalind Penfound, Amy Parker, Daniel Holland, Nikhil Punjabi, Carmelle d'Entremont, Abdallah Yousri, Chris Xiao, Tabinda Sheikh, Leo Artalejo, Rick Power, Elizabeth Eustaquio, Jennifer Watts

**Regrets:** Anna Marenick

Minute Taker: Nabiha Atallah

#### 1. WELCOME

Lilani Kumaranayake, as Chair, welcomed everyone to the AGM on behalf of the Board of ISANS. Quorum was confirmed and the meeting was called to order. Lilani explained the procedures and eligibility for voting.

### 2. OPENING REMARKS

The Deputy Minister of Labour, Skills and Immigration for the Province of Nova Scotia, Ava Czapalay, provided remarks on the importance of immigration to our province and ISANS' contribution to settlement and integration of immigrants in our communities.

#### 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF AGM JUNE 23, 2021

UPON MOTION, duly made by Alan Blyth and seconded by Abdallah Yousri, it was unanimously resolved that the Minutes of AGM June 23, 2021 be approved.

# 4. PRESENTATION OF ISANS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR 2021-22 FISCAL YEAR AND MOTION TO APPOINT AUDITOR FOR 2022-2023 FISCAL YEAR

Cecil Snow, as Treasurer, presented the Financial Statements for the 2021-2022 fiscal year. He informed everyone that a copy of the report was available for those wishing to have one.

The Chair requested a motion to re-appoint Grant Thornton as ISANS Auditors for 2022-2023 fiscal year.

UPON MOTION, duly made by Cecil Snow and seconded by Sonja Erman, it was unanimously resolved that Grant Thornton be re-appointed as ISANS Auditors for 2021-2022 fiscal year.

# 5. MOTION TO ELECT DIRECTORS OF ISANS

Rosalind Penfound, Governance Committee chair, presented the nominations for ISANS Directors for 2022-2023. They are as follows:

- Leo Artalejo
- Jeannie Chow
- Carmelle d'Entremont
- Sonja Erman
- Elizabeth Eustaquio
- Daniel Holland
- Lilani Kumaranayake
- Anna Marenick
- Amy Parker
- Rosalind Penfound
- Rick Power
- Byron Rafuse
- Tabinda Sheikh
- Cecil Snow
- Jennifer Watts
- Chris Xiao
- Abdallah Yousri

UPON MOTION, duly made by Rosalind Penfound and seconded by Carmelle d'Entremont, it was unanimously resolved that the nominations for ISANS Directors for 2022-2023 be approved.

# 6. MOTION TO ELECT OFFICERS OF ISANS

Rosalind Penfound presented the nominations for the Officers of ISANS Board of Directors as follows:

- Chair Lilani Kumaranayake
- Vice Chair Sonja Erman
- Secretary Chris Xiao
- Treasurer Cecil Snow
- Past Chair Rosalind Penfound

UPON MOTION, duly made by Rosalind Penfound and seconded by Amy Parker, it was unanimously resolved that the nominations for Officers of ISANS be approved.

#### 7. CONCLUSION OF BUSINESS PORTION OF AGM

UPON MOTION, duly made by Leo Artalejo and seconded by Chris Xiao, it was unanimously resolved that the ISANS 2022 AGM be concluded.

The Chair welcomed new members to the Board.

- Byron Rafuse
- Jeannie Chow

The chair also thanked outgoing members of the Board:

- Alan Blyth
- Nikhil Punjabi

This concluded the business portion of the 2022 AGM.

The program content of the AGM included the following:

### **CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERS REPORT**

The CEO presented the Chief Executive Officers' report with a presentation highlighting the past year's accomplishments. Jennifer thanked the board, staff, funding partners, volunteers and all that are involved in supporting ISANS.

# PRESENTATION OF ISANS' AWARD

The CEO explained the purpose of the ISANS' Award. The recipient of the 2022 ISANS Award is LENS – Learn English Nova Scotia. Carol Derby, as nominator, thanked LENS for providing support to our organization and the newcomers we serve. Erin MacDonald accepted the award on behalf of LENS.

### **CLOSING REMARKS**

Jennifer thanked all for coming, and thanked staff and volunteers of ISANS for their dedication and commitment to the organization.

This concluded the 2022 AGM.